top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Night time wind down


So recently I made a new Spotify playlist for those nights where you’ve had a busy day, or you’re just having trouble sleeping, and you need a way to wind down. To check out the full playlist follow me on Spotify: abcdefghisla, but here are my top three favourite tracks on there.

  1. Sleeping at Last- Total Eclipse of the Heart: Believe it or not but I first heard this song on Love Island- crazy, I know, to hear such a beautiful song on a programme primarily about having sex on TV. The cover was so good that I HAD to take to Twitter to see who the genius artist was behind it. I was told about Sleeping at Last, a three piece American band who do have original material available on Spotify, but whose covers are the only features on my wind down playlist. Their slightly rough and throaty vocals creates a contrast with the slow tempo of their songs to create something completely different from the originals, but equally, if not more, beautiful. I absolutely adore them and Total Eclipse of the Heart is my ultimate favourite song with it not only being great to listen to as a way to wind down, but also if you’re just in a sad and sappy mood and need a way, or song, to cry to.

  2. Ben Howard- I Forget Where We Were: Ben Howard is always reliable for a wind down summer song as his acoustic riffs and smooth vocals are classic. He features several times in my wind down playlist but this song is both one of my favourite wind down songs, and one of my favourite songs in general. I’m such a sucker for a man and his acoustic guitar and Ben Howard never disappoints, which is what makes him one of my favourite artists of all time. His soft melodies are perfect for a night time track or sunny Sunday afternoon. I seriously think that he’s such an underrated artist and is definitely someone I recommend you checking out.

  3. James Blake- f.o.r.e.v.e.r: James Blake is such an original artist it hurts. He creates this gorgeous mixture between synthetic beats and acoustic instruments which are so soothing on the ears it’s enough to calm anyone down. Like the previous two artists I’ve talked about he is mentioned more than once on my wind down playlist, but f.o.r.e.v.e.r is most definitely my favourite one. It’s not even 3 minutes long and yet it’s arguably one of the most beautiful songs on the whole playlist. Just Blake’s voice and a piano with nothing else makes for a perfect song in my opinion. His true talent as a musician is really exposed in this song, and if you haven’t listened to any of his stuff before I strongly suggest you start with this song. Give him a go.

So there are my top 3 songs from my wind down playlist. If you want to listen to the whole playlist follow me on Spotify: abcdefghisla

bottom of page