top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Mind Matters


In 7 weeks I will be bald. I will lose my statement full fringe and shoulder length hair and I’m not really sure what I’m going to look like without it. I’m scared. But not half as scared as the people who suffer with mental health illnesses every day of their lives and aren’t taken seriously when they try and speak out.

Mind helps those who suffer with their mental health and their families alike by providing support and advice that aims to empower those in need. And that’s why I’m shaving my head to support them.

Every year 1 in 4 people will experience a mental health issue. I know myself several people who have suffered with varying degrees of depression that have been triggered from what can seem like the most normal of situations. Whether it’s graduating from university and finding it hard to break into a career you love, or losing someone dear to you, they can cause serious issues with your mental health which can leave you with feelings of isolation and loneliness.

This is where Mind steps in. With their landline, website, charity shops, and Local Mind stores, Mind will not stop until the stigma around mental health is eradicated. Part of their moto is that “No one should face mental health issues alone” and they are part of the way there. With 16.7 million web users, 61,862 phone calls last year, and 140 Local Minds across the UK they are quickly becoming the support system that millions of people suffering with mental health issues need.

Despite their amazing work and inspiring goals their funding has been cut by 8.25% which is equivalent to £600 million. The work that Mind do cannot possibly continue with such success as they’ve seen in the past few years if they aren’t provided with the money they so desperately need. Which is why donations are such a huge importance to the charity. For every £1 donation given 85p goes towards their charitable work of saving some of the most vulnerable lives.

So this is why I am pushing all of my insecurities aside and shaving my hair. I may have the weirdest looking shaped head for all I know (who really knows what their head looks like anyway?!) but it’s all for a good cause. Let’s just hope it’s not too cold this winter…

If you would like to donate to Mind via my Just Giving page simply click this link: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/mongolrally-isla-mind

text ICRM99 and how much you would like to donate to 70070

Thank you!


bottom of page