top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Hair today gone in September


If this posts title didn’t give it away already I’m shaving my head. Come Friday 29th September 2017 I will no longer have my staple full fringe and shoulder length hair that I have become so accustomed to and will, instead, be a fully-fledged skinhead. Did someone say this is England 2017?!

Of course I wouldn’t shave my hair off for nothing. I’m an overweight girl with a less than slim face and more than one chin so why would I draw attention to that? Well, as is usually the way, it’s for charity. However I am fundraising for something a little more adventurous than just your usual charity event. Come Sunday 15th July 2018 I will be driving from London to Mongolia in the Mongol Rally, all in the name of charity.

So what is the Mongol Rally? It’s a 10,000 mile drive from London to Mongolia with no mapped out route and no back-up support. That’s right- just you, your team mates, and the open road. Let’s hope I don’t end up killing someone.

Although the whole event is relaxed (almost too relaxed for a 10,000 mile trek) there are still some rules I have to follow:

  • The car HAS to have an engine no larger than 1.2L. No monster trucks or 4x4’s because what’s the fun in that? The aim is to break down, crash the car, and pretty much cause a wreckage. The more horrible the car the better. Get that KA bought NOW.

  • There is no plan. You can go through any country you want and take as long as you like to get there. If you want to take thousands of pounds with you to stay in hotels that’s fine, but if you want to do it properly and have a real adventure than you take as little money as possible and camp. It’s all up to you.

  • A minimum of £1000 needs to be raised before signing up. £500 of that will go towards Cool Earth, the Mongol Rally’s supporting charity, with whatever’s left going to your chosen cause(s).

So what is Cool Earth? And what charity have myself and my team decided to support?

Cool Earth helps preserve rainforests by funding the indigenous people who support them with 90% of all donations going directly into their projects. To date £8 million has been donated by Mongol rally racers with much more needed to save our environment.

Cool Earth is what we are required to donate to, however we have decided to donate the rest of our money to not one, not two, but three different charities: Teenage Cancer Trust, Cystic Fibrosis Trust, and Mind. These charities help support people that are most in need mentally and physically and their amazing work has helped to save and support millions of people across the UK. More about these charities in later posts.

In 9 weeks my hair will be gone and I will be a step closer to Mongolia. I have set up my Just Giving page for Mind with the beginning target of £300. If you would like to support my cause and the amazing charities that I am doing this for than visit my Just Giving page and give whatever you can. Wish me luck.


bottom of page