top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Hair Yesterday Gone Today


19, journalism student, and newly bald. What began as a joke a little under a year ago officially turned into a reality at 10pm on Friday 29th September 2017.

Sitting at the table in our McLaren House flat myself and my uni BFF had the crazy idea that I should shave my hair off for charity. We wanted to participate in the Mongol Rally next summer and needed to raise £1,000. What better way to raise money than to shave your hair off? Plus, free haircut!

There was a massive part of me that doubted I would ever shave my shoulder length hair off. But the months flew by and sooner than I knew I was sat on a chair on the stage of The Cardigan Arms, in front of a room full of my friends and family, with my hair falling around me. All I could think was fuck it. This was for charity and I was raising awareness for a good cause.

I decided early on that all of my proceeds would go to Mind the mental health charity. I have seen first-hand the effects mental health illnesses can have on individuals and how helpful it is to have a help-line like Mind there. Let’s face it, at some point we all feel mentally unstable no matter how severe. Mind offers help to people with all forms of mental health issues and gives them someone to speak to about it. In a world as traumatic as it currently is I believe that we need them more now than ever.

Post shave people were continuously coming up to me and letting me know how fabulous I looked and how I was the spitting image of Sinead O’Conner. Pulling off the baldness is obviously a massive plus but the awareness is doubly as important. Cliché moment here guys, but if the money I raised could go towards helping anyone suffering from mental health issues in any small way than my challenge was successfully completed.

I set myself the goal of raising £300, and surpassed that within two months. Currently on my Just Giving page I have raised £648, with £420 being raised on the night. Over £1,000 is going towards Mind to help all of those who have, and still are, suffering with their mental health every day and it was an honour to have shaved my head for them.

I would like to say a massive thank you to every single person that donated, and all of those who came and supported me and Mind on the night of my shave. If you would still like to donate my Just Giving page is open for another week, and if not than go and check out the amazing work that Mind does.


bottom of page